University Registrar's Office

Fall 1998 Academic Calendar

August 13, Thursday Fall Semester opens
August 13, Thursday Undergraduate academic suspension appeals deadline
August 13–15, Thursday–Saturday Orientation, advising and registration for all students based on student population and classification
August 13, Thursday Orientation for new graduate students
August 17, Monday Classes begin (8:00 a.m.)
August 17–21,
Late Registration and Schedule Adjustment
August 21, Friday Last day to change courses or course sections without special permission
August 21, Friday Financial Aid satisfactory academic progress appeals deadline
August 24, Monday Last day to drop course(s) and receive a refund on tuition and fees
August 24, Monday Deadline for graduate students to apply to graduate in Fall 1998 (December)
September 7, Monday Labor Day Holiday. Classes dismissed; offices closed
September 28, Monday Deadline for undergraduate students to apply to graduate in Fall 1998 (December)
October 5, Monday Founder's Day
October 5, Monday Six weeks unsatisfactory progress reports due in University Registrar's Office
October 9, Friday Instruction ends for Fall Break (6:00 p.m.)
October 14, Wednesday Classes resume (8:00 a.m.)
October 16, Friday Last day to drop courses without academic penalty
October 29–November 12,
Spring Semester advising for continuing undergraduate students in major departments, by appointment
October 30, Friday Final date for oral examinations for December doctoral candidates
November 2–12,
Registration for continuing students for Spring Semester
November 13, Friday Deadline for filing one signed copy of dissertation in the Graduate Office
November 24, Tuesday Instruction ends for Thanksgiving holidays (10:00 p.m.)
November 30, Monday Classes resume after Thanksgiving holidays (8:00 a.m.)
November 30, Monday Deadline for filing one copy of thesis in the Graduate School Office
December 4, Friday Final deadline to pay Spring registration bills
December 7, Monday Last day of classes
December 8, Tuesday Reading Day
December 8, Tuesday Final date for complete clearance of December candidates for graduate degrees
December 9–11, 14–16,
Wednesday–Friday, Monday–Wednesday
Final Examinations
December 12, Saturday Tentative official final exam make-up day (as determined by the administration)
December 17, Thursday Tentative official final exam make-up day (as determined by the administration)
December 19, Saturday December Commencement