University Registrar's Office

Fall 2001 Academic Calendar

Printer-friendly version of this pagePRINT THIS
You must have Adobe Acrobat Reader to view this file.

August 14, Tuesday Fall Semester Opens
August 14, Tuesday Undergraduate Academic Suspension Appeals Deadline
August 14–18, Tuesday–Saturday Orientation, Advising, Registration for all students based on student population and classification
August 16, Thursday Orientation for New Graduate Students
August 20, Monday Classes Begin 8:00 a.m.
August 20–24, Monday–Friday Late Registration and Schedule Adjustment
August 24, Friday Last Day to Change Courses or Course Sections without special permission
August 24, Friday Financial Aid satisfactory academic progress appeals deadline
August 27, Monday Last day to drop course for tuition and fees refund
August 27, Monday Deadline for graduate students to apply to graduate in December 2001
September 1–30 Undergraduate Students planning to either declare or change major should do so during this time
September 3, Monday Labor Day Holiday. Classes dismissed; offices closed
September 10, Monday Deadline for undergraduates to apply to graduate in December 2001
September 28, Friday Six weeks progress reports due in University Registrar's Office
October 1, Monday Founders Day
October 5, Friday Instruction Ends for Fall Break 6:00 p.m.
October 10, Wednesday Classes resume after Fall Break 8:00 a.m.
October 12, Friday Last day to drop courses without academic penalty
Oct. 30–Nov. 16,
Spring Semester advising for continuing students, by appointment
November 2, Friday Final Date for December Doctoral Candidates Oral Examinations
November 3–16, Saturday–Friday Spring 2002 Registration for Continuing Students
November 16, Friday
Filing deadline for one signed copy of dissertation, Graduate School
November 20, Tuesday Instruction ends for Thanksgiving Holiday, 10:00 p.m.
November 26, Monday Classes resume 8:00 a.m.
December 3, Monday Filing deadline for one copy of thesis, Graduate School
December 10, Monday Last Day of Classes
December 11, Tuesday Final date for complete clearance of December graduate degree candidates
December 11, Tuesday Reading Day
December 12–14, 17–19,
Wednesday–Friday, Monday–Wednesday
Final Examinations
December 15, Saturday Tentative official final exam makeup day
December 20, Thursday Tentative official final exam makeup day
December 20, Thursday December Commencement, Greensboro Coliseum

Approved by the UNCG Faculty Senate, October 6, 1999; approved by Chancellor October 25, 1999